Not a Salmon Sunrise!

...... but a Goldfinch with a salmon coloured head.

I managed to ooze quietly onto my deck and capture another goldfinch, further away. This one suddenly appeared from the right, and posed; briefly. Couldn't believe my luck. At least its eye is in focus!  There are some others in Extras - I wonder which one you would have Blipped?

1/640 sec was probably too slow for these rapid flitty fliers, but I'm stoked that I got it at all. Gorgeous wee bird! Introduced into NZ early in the 1800s, it now calls NZ home.

It's made my day. 
Day 2 of New Zealand's Lockdown. Our infected cases rate continues to rise, as has been predicted.  We have 368 confirmed cases now, with 8 in hospital, and one dear soul in Intensive Care. The experts don't expect that rate to plateau for at least 10 days. We just have to be patient, stay home, and act as though we've got Covid-19 ourselves. I hope that the increasing rate will persuade the reluctant punters to join The Determined Team!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.