La vida de Annie

By Annie

Controles policiales.

Lockdown day 13.
I ventured into Mahon today to try to get the prescription item which was out of stock when I tried to get it two days ago in Es Mercadal. This was taken from outside the farmacía, where I was queuing 2 meters behind a woman who was 2 meters away from the entrance, from which she was waiting for the single customer to emerge. I did get the required tablets, but there were still no masks available. I'd heard that a large consignment was to be delivered to pharmacies after news that all civilians were to be required to wear one while out of the house.
While waiting at the edge of the pavement I had to jump sharply away from a council disinfecting lorry, a huge tanker of liquid spraying jets right across the road on both sides. It was going at such a fair lick that I didn't have time to get my camera out - a shame as the fountains of liquid would have made a good picture with the sunlight catching them.
In the distance is the checkpoint manned by half a dozen fierce-looking guardias, stopping every vehicle going in and out of town via this road. I was stopped coming in, asked where I was going and where I live. When I said the pharmacy, and Addaia, I was sternly told I should go to the pharmacy in Es Mercadal. Struck semi-dumb by the presence of a tall, masked and forbidding uniformed figure looming over me, I managed to convey that my medicine was not in stock there, so he let me go providing I go straight home afterwards. A different policeman stopped me on the way back - I was able to wave the pharmacy bag at him as proof of where I'd been (he could have asked for the receipt as proof but didn't) but again wanted to know where I lived and instructed me to go straight there.
I disobeyed police orders in order to go to the supermarket for a few essentials. It was a little busier than last week but still only a dozen customers, and no shortages. The chocolate biscuit supplies are now replenished. It remains to be seen how a 4 pack per week habit will impact on my weight once this is all over...
It was good to be out of the house for a while in one way, but on the other hand I'm feeling increasingly anxious about going out. The same day I went to Es Mercadal recently apparently 3 patients of the geriatric hospital there were found to have the virus. Last night the neighbours in the street I photographed all joined in song from the windows, to cheer up the old folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.