Another Job Bites the Dust

This morning I no doubt annoyed the neighbours by pressure washing my paths to the front of the house. As you can tell, I forgot to take a before and after photo!!! For my morning exercise I did my Tai Chi DVD for the first time which I enjoyed and found quite relaxing. It either needs cleaning or has a scratch though! This afternoon I did my photo challenge and read more of Michael Mosley's book on sleep. My friends in MK and I are doing a daily photo challenge based around the letters of the alphabet, so today we had to find a flower or weed beginning with C (cherry blossom for me) and tomorrow it's something that makes us laugh / smile beginning with D. I also saw my first Tortoiseshell butterfly - see extra. I made a donation today to help support people during the CV crisis. I chose to do it through the National Emergency Trust Coronavirus Appeal. The National Emergencies Trust was only established last year to collaborate with charities and other bodies to raise and distribute money and support victims at the time of a domestic disaster (like the work the Disasters Emergency Committee does for World crises). 

Day 12 / Day 4 of Lockdown (for my record only)
UK deaths up 181 to 759 (with 6,200 who have tested positive in hospital, the rate is doubling every 3 to 4 days); Italy up 919 to 9134 and Spain up 769 to 4858. New York State (popn 20 million) now has 44,635 cases and 519 deaths. (A caveat on the figures from other countries, they change or are reported differently on various websites).

The Prime Minister and Health Secretary have both tested positive for the virus and with mild symptoms are working from home. The Chief Medical Officer is self-isolating with symptoms. Re-configuring of the NHS has made 33,000 beds available to treat CV in England and 3 temporary NHS Nightingale hospitals are being built in London, Birmingham and Manchester. Testing is being scaled up via an alliance of institutions and companies to test front line workers. A temporary mortuary is being built at Birmingham Airport. A third of the World’s aircraft are now in storage. Calls to Childline have doubled in the last week. Councils have been told to house all rough sleepers by the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.