TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Military Macaw~

~Ara militaris mexicana~


My local camera club went to the Reid Park Zoo today.
Now I'll admit I'm not a big fan of zoos, in the entertainment way.
But maybe with my camera in hand I thought I just might enjoy it.
Just about the only good part of the day was this photograph.
I'm afraid that seeing animals in enclosures is not my idea of fun.
Some of the exhibited animals I couldn't even look at.
Depressing, melancholy, lonely and unhappy, them and me.
And the patrons were laughing, yelling and pointing in glee.
I'm sorry, I just don't get the fascination of that place.
These feelings are my own sensibilities at play here.
Its not the zoo itself that really troubles me.
Its just that any animal that is not truly happy bothers me.
Empathy I guess is the emotion that I have for those animals.
I am aware that zoos do great things for endangered species.
Species breeding programs in a safe and secure environment.
Also they offer a good home for abused or injured wild animals.
And the Reid Zoo was very clean and had an open environment.
But I won't make that trip ever again, never ever again!
And as far a taking pictures, well, I clicked about twelve times.
And all of those photographs were of these gorgeous Macaws.

Thanks and I'm glad you didn't go with me!
I probably would have not been good company.
This is not a condemnation of zoos,
Just my personal emotions coming from my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.