Vole captured

A few days ago I found I had bank voles in the cellar. I didn't want to just block up the hole and leave some of the voles stuck in the house, so I bought some small mammal traps. These have an entrance tunnel with a flap that drops down, and a larger box where the vole waits to be released. I put some dried grass in the box for warmth, and a piece of carrot to prevent thirst. (Apple would have done too, but I didn't have any.)

I caught four voles today, and I suspect if I had emptied the traps more often I could have got more. I released them on the far side of the field next to the garden, under the shelter of a fallen tree. The weather is bad though, and I've no idea if they have much chance of surviving in winter without a prepared nest.

This vole was the liveliest of the four and was more interested in the carrot than anything else. The colour is off because the box is made of orange plastic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.