Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Forsythia, again

Our daughter-in-law went grocery shopping today and we picked up our bags on their front porch, and spoke thru the door at a distance. (they are trying to work and have meetings at home…it’s all stressful...we’re grateful they are trying to take care of us as well!,)   At home I was thinking of that grocery cleaning video and realized for me that was just too crazy.  I did repackage a few things,  the strawberries, the bagels, the broccoli , and I did wipe off the milk cartons and ice cream and coffee bean bag with paper towel and cleaner but then when it came to soap and water I just couldn’t wash bananas  or pears or the onions for heavens sake.   (the Acorn squash, yes)   so I rinsed them well, and decided we really didn’t need to do all that.  Then my son sent me this video (it's an article, not a video actually.)... seems a LOT more reasonable.   Your hands are touching containers and then food and it just got ridiculous trying to figure what you had just done.  So relax, I told myself.   We’re all going to eventually have antibodies anyway I suspect. 

My eye goes to all the forsythia on our neighborhood walks. I think because I grew up with them in the midwest and my Mom had one that she cut and brought inside.  It’s named for William Forsythe (1737-1804), a Scottish botanist  and royal head gardener for the Royal Horticultural Society  I didn’t know you could prune these trees like this.

We walked “the steps” today and saw only 5 people,…they must be 8 feet wide so one could pass one to one with 6 ft. but we avoided even that.  And no touching those railings!

Extra is the view from sitting in my reading chair in the front window…with a bit of sun you can see the now well established bushtit nest in the tree two condos away.  the birds fly by my window a lot.. Very fun to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.