movableparts

By MovableParts

Mandala...the dreamer's search for completeness

Painted by: Headman Cheveyo...spirit warrior.


Mandala definition: a geometric figure representing the universe in Hindu and Buddhist symbolism.  Obviously, mandalas are not limited to Hindus or Buddhists.  


Secondary meaning: the dreamer's search for completeness and unity.  I am the dreamer in search of completeness and unity.


I saw this painting for sale at a nursery a few years ago.  No price tag announced it's cost. Nearby, Headman Cheveyo sat among a flourish of plants   I inquired.  Cheveyo asked me to make an offer.  


I replied, "How can I place a value on a sacred object, especially with its creator before me?"


He spoke a price, far below what I had expected to pay.  I offered him threes times his asking fee.  I should have offered ten times more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.