Pi

By Pi

When The Chips Are Down

(OK, I know I'm back Blipping but life is insane at the moment. I get these images and feel so tired I never get to post them.
It's Saturday today so I'll play catch up. Sorry about that folks.)


So, today (IYKWIM) I was about to replace a faulty Integrated Circuit (IC or better known by the slang CHIP) and had my work light behind the circuit board to look for damage to internal layers.

[The circuit board is made of woven glass and epoxy and has layers of copper etched into "tracks" so connections can be made between layers and to components. It is important to confirm an internal layer is not burnt before too much time is spent attempting to repair it.]


I really liked the look of the board and thought it would make a great Blip.
I changed the "CHIP" and the board is back in its JBL powered speaker probably annoying the hell out of someone attempting to have a quiet drink somewhere :)

BTW, that chip is 3mm wide so you can imagine the skill needed to replace it. Not bad for an old bugger :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.