Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Signs

With signs of spring all around, the trees are still very much in their winter plumage. This one sits over by the scout camp at Sconce and is a good spot for moths in late spring and early summer.

I left it until the end of the day for a bit of exercise, it was cool and breezy out. I walked over the moor to the summer cabins, where one person seemed to be in isolating residence.

I looked for the barn owls, as that is their spot, but didn't see any. There was a sustained, blood curdling squawk though, which may well have been one of them. I heard lapwing and curlew too, but their usual pastures were a bit further over than I went today.  Overhead, a couple of crows were chasing a red kite out of the neighbourhood. With the smaller birds I spied robin, wren, meadow pipit and reed bunting but no skylarks yet.

Otherwise, it's been an inside day. I'm working myself up to doing some very overdue decorating, but for the moment I'm just sorting out stuff, of which I have too much.

I'm making a bit of progress bringing some order to my postcard collection/accumulation which is distributed through about fifteen shoe boxes and has been largely (and rightly) neglected since 15yo came into being. And I keep telling myself that the purpose of this activity is to make the collection easier to get rid of at some point, and absolutely NOT to remind myself of any gaps in the collection that need filling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.