Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Keep Dancing with Sue

This morning, the three of us donned a nice dress each, put on our dance shoes and got involved in my aunty’s online Latin ballroom dance session.

This is what she has done since retiring; she’s opened up her own dance school. I marvel at the determination of people like my aunty who have created a new version of themselves post-career. My Mum has also done this- she’s now a magistrate though- dance was never really her forte.

What I loved about Sue’s session (apart from the fabulous Latin beats) was that her explanations were really easy to follow; probably owing to the fact that the career version of Sue was as an Early Years Teacher. (There are dividends to be enjoyed!)

In truth, I woke up feeling a little tight-chested this morning.

What the hell was I going to do today with my girls? At least the home learning midweek has provided us with structure.

None-the-less, I had a quiet word with myself, drew up the game plan for the day on the mini whiteboard in the kitchen and thus, we were busy and fulfilled all day.

I did however, have one of those moments of “oh God, what have I done?” when we got to the top of Latrigg this afternoon in blustery wind and hail-stones and my poor 5 year old (through shivers and tears) said: “I’m never coming up here again, it’s poo-poo. “

Thank goodness, all was well again half an hour later, with hot chocolate and Jaffa cakes back in our cosy home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.