If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Cock Pheasant (Phasianus colchicus)

A lazy quiet day round home, isn't that a surprise, staying at home.  We managed to get Kanyl up and running with Zoom and had 40 minutes of face to face chat.  It is a great way of staying in touch in these difficult times.

I am getting used to not having a lot of choice as to blip subjects.  However "the Old Boy" (for reasons I can't explain we always refer to the resident male as the old boy or old lad) posed nicely in the sun.  When I got down to processing the shot I realised I had caught him with the nictitating membrane across the eye.

The nictitating membrane is a third eyelid which can be drawn sideways across the eye.  It is, depending on species either translucent or transparent. Found in birds, amphibians and a few mammals, it protects the eye from dust etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.