Different, but...

Today is my birthday! I’ve always wanted to celebrate my birthday in the UK and my wish has come true! :-)

I had a lovely day considering the situation. I cooked a lot, which I love and makes me feel happy and relaxed. I prepared two trays of lasagne, one for us and one for LDC’s mum. Then I baked a cherry cake following a Mary Berry’s recipe, but improvising wherever I didn’t have the right ingredient. I do apologise to you all, as I know how adored the lady is. The final result was very good anyway and everybody asked for more! 

A lot of people remembered me. I got cards, text messages and a lot of phone calls. At lunch time E and R from Italy called me and we had a nice chat on WhatsApp. Three people in three different places. This is how you keep in touch these days. It was a day to keep in touch with Italian friends and family and it was when I heard that my cousin was so unwell too. Not what you like to hear on your birthday, or any other day for that matter, but that’s life, isn’t it? 

I received a lot of presents too. LDC, NSLLDC, LDC’s mum and lovely blipper Ruth spoilt me rotten (lovely Ruth had left her present for me when she came here last). I was even sent pictures of presents from lovely E in Italy. She should have arrived on the 20th of March, but of course her flight was cancelled. Oh well, it means that I’ll have more than one birthday this year! Miss you so much, E! Can’t wait to see you and give you a huge hug!

Another big bonus today was an hour of yoga! My yoga centre in Italy has started doing classes online and today was their first one ever. What a lovely present for me! I felt so happy after my practice! 

This is my first birthday without my Italian family, but my first with my English one. And it was different, but special! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.