Porkybrown

By Porkybrown

A swallow and a song called Celandine

The Greeks named for the swallow (the bird) was ‘chelidon’. They named the (lesser) celandine after the bird as, traditionally, the first flowers bloomed as the first swallows arrived. In English folklore the flower symbolises, inter alia, ‘joys to come’. I hope particularly this year it is true. In my song I have returned the name to the bird, calling the first swallow to arrive ‘Celandine’ ( I hope it’s a ‘lady’ swallow!)


If you would like to listen the link is: https://soundcloud.com/phil-riley51/celandine


Celandine
 
 
Another sun, another spring
Another flash of blue wing
Sing me in flight
Sing me, oh sing me a sign
Celandine
 
 
Follow your magical line
Your magical magnetic line
Why do you come
Come to this country of mine
Celandine
 
A brooding quiet in our town
Why so few people around?
Soldiers patrol
Eyes peek from behind closed blinds
Celandine
 
 
We’re living through a bad dream
A killer walks in unseen
Can we defeat it?
Oh, tell me we’ll beat it in time
Celandine
 
Lift up my soul
Gladden this old heart of mine
Celandine
 
 
Phil Riley
March 2020

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.