Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

British Summer Time

British Summer Time started today when the clocks went forward by an hour, yet the weather went backwards by about 2 months – it was very cold today with an icy wind and even snow flurries! Ridiculous for the end of March.
 
This morning Xena seemed much better – she did not have any accidents during the night, and she seemed more like her usual self. Gavin and I took her to the woods for a walk, walking from home as is required. I had thought when Gavin started working from home that he would be able to walk with me most days, but of course for him it is no different from any working day, he disappears upstairs by 8am and is up there till just before supper time except when he comes out at lunch time to walk to the shop to buy the newspaper and a wrap for lunch (he wants to keep supporting the local shop)
 
People we meet on the walk are generally good about social distancing except when you see a family with small children walking abreast and taking up the whole path with no thought to keeping their distance, which often requires me to hop into the bracken to get out of the way.
 
After our walk Gavin went to the supermarket. With the boys at home we have to go quite regularly as the food does not last that long. He said it was freezing cold standing outside in the queue for a long time, by the time he got into the store his hands were blue! Well done to Sainsburys for now having screens up for their cashiers. Delighted that he actually got toilet paper today but no eggs and no tinned tomatoes (which I use nearly every day in my cooking).
 
Adam had a conference call with his friends this morning . It seems two of them have had Covid-19, but were lucky to have mild symptoms. I almost wish I could get the virus with mild symptoms to be done with it, as I have realised we are in for the long haul with this virus and will be having rolling lockdowns going forward for at least 18 months – I hope I am wrong but based on the Imperial college report it is clear this is not just a 2 month problem. This article that Damnonii linked on her blip yesterday seems to be the most realistic viewpoint to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.