Family Rummikub

Sunday 29th March 2020

Don't take this the wrong way, I know many people are struggling, but I think I need to isolate myself from this social isolation because it's too busy! :-)

I had just finished a simple communion service this morning when my computer started ringing. I accepted the call and found myself face to face with 6 members of the family on a group chat, that was a surprise. By the time we'd finished adding people we had 12 members of the family together, covering four generations - from here, Leeds, London, Norfolk, Lancaster and France. It was rather chaotic! We've never done that before.

Spent the afternoon trying to tame the study monster again as well as baking some fruit rolls ... without the fruit! I substituted sunflower seeds. Turned out rather well. 

Had a video call late afternoon with a friend, who took me  on a tour of her new house and garden. 

This evening we managed a four way private game of online Rummikub with family. Me this side of the Pennines, Mum in Leeds and my brother and sister-in-law in London. My laptop was linked to the London ipad so that we could see each other. They were playing on their phones, mum and I were on our tablets and I had mum on the phone on speaker laying on my laptop so we could talk with her and she could hear us. Getting her laptop into the equation was a step too far for a first attempt. It took quite a while to get set up but now we know what we're doing it will be easier. Once we got going we had quite a few games, another first! 

After all that I am exhausted. It was seriously a lot quieter without the isolation! But do please take that the way it is meant, with tongue in cheek. You have to see the funny side of some things at this time. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.