Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

OMG!

I honestly didn't realise how long I've been away from Blip.  I thought a year but since 2017!!!  I've lost my life! 

So I look like a Martian gone wrong!  This is my garb for the foreseeable future!

For those that remember me, I'm still a Personal Assistant/Carer in the community.  Today I learned a new respect for Corvid-19. 

I called 111 when I found my client on the floor. I'll leave that half hours ordeal out of this. 

 I have no option as I can't lift her alone. I can't call a burly neighbour to help, my colleagues  are tied up and, ultimately, it's not Safe Practice to do otherwise.  I am safe, she is safe,, Enter the ambulance crew! 

No PPE, personal protective equipment to you and me, no masks no gloves until the gloves come out after handling the doors.  Then they say, we 're not tested and you may be infected,  My client is only happy to see a strapping young lad, and a lesser strapping one. Hey ho...90 years old!

Lovely!!

So here I am, dressed as a martian, and here I will stay, also for my other 3 clients who don't deserve to see me like this.  It's not the fault of the services... I may need support but so do they.  My masks are paid for by me, or more truthfully from my salary from my clients,  Masks and gloves are worth more than Goldust to purchase! 

For the next 7 days... I await a fever, a cough or... hopefully nothing.  The latter means my client is safe!!!


I pray our services can be issued  PPE very soon. 

In the meantime... I look like an ancient Martian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.