Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Motionless in #Greetland #Halifax

It snowed heavily last night and although the thaw has started to set in and the snowplough has been down the lane outside, our cars remain stationary as the drive is still under eight inches  of snow.

I decided  to take a walk before breakfast and came across these motionless birds on the fields off Moorbottom Road, Greetland. They looked like birds from a distance but I was surprised that they were absolutely still. As I got nearer they remained frozen to the spot like statues and I was begining to wonder if they were actually lumps of snow and that my eyes were playing tricks on me.

It was not until I approached within 5 metres of the birds that they decided their space was being invaded and all took to flight.

I think these are Little Gulls but I stand to be corrected by any ornithologists out there.

With the exception of Dead Parrots, why do birds stand motionless for long periods?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.