The Young Queen

An auspicious day for the ants’ nest under the back lawn. After several cool wet days late this morning many of the clouds lifted and thin sunshine warmed things up. The new queens and the males took flight. I found this queen on my washing. She was huge compared to the males. Once she had mated she would have removed her wings and found a new site for her own nest. I was astonished to learn that she needed mate only once in her life and she will go on laying eggs for 20-odd years. The males grow from unfertilised eggs. Their only purpose is to mate with the queen and die.

The praying mantises were out for the first time in about a week. I found both the females that I have blipped before. Number Two Is looking very pregnant, but Number One is slim. She must have built her ootheca and laid her eggs. I had a look around, but could not see it. Since it was raining she may have laid it on the underside of a leaf. I will have to do a search.

Lockdown Day 5: There seemed to be a lot more traffic on the highway today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.