BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 9

Day nine
Monday 30th March 2020

Statistics
Cars - 27
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 1
Molehills - 3
Trailer loads of wood - 2

I was going to revert to my usual summer riding time of seven o'clock but at 6.45am the outside temperature on my bedroom  weather station was just 0.3c so I went back to bed for an hour during which time the temperature had climbed to 2.1c.
It's still quiet on the roads as my statistics confirm. All three mole traps were clogged up with soil pushed in by Mr Mole. The problem is moles push the dirt in front of them and as the earth is gooey and wet it clogs up the traps. In time when the earth dries out or the mole goes through the trap without any earth then bang I'll 'ave I'm.
The wood cutting went slowly today with only two trailer loads. The first load was made up of 2"-3" diameter branch wood which took a long time to cut up using my circular bench saw. I just managed to get the first load done and stowed before it poured with rain which gave me time to fit the new carburettor to the chainsaw. At first it wouldn't fire up so I tipped some petrol down the bore and it burst into life only needing a slight adjustment to get it running smoothly. Don't ask me how long I'd spent messing about with the old carburettor trying to get it to run. What ever I did I could not get it to tick over. I think the tiny idler jet was blocked but I could not unblock it whatever I did.
I sharpened the chain and the after lunch I cut up some real logs. All went well until I decided to cut up an old 7"x7" gatepost and hit a nail which dulled my nice sharp chain. So I wasted half an hour resharpening it. Still the larger logs fill the trailer more quickly so tomorrow all being well I hope to fill and stow four trailer loads.
My new cheapo drill arrived today it's just like the last one but in red not black. Cheap drills are the best as when they go wrong you can  just chuck 'em and buy another. This theory works well with all my gardening equipment too.
In the evening we just relaxed as usual watching film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.