Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Allotments permitted or not??

Allotments Confusion – are we permitted to work in our allotments during the lockdown or not?

According to the UK government going to one’s allotment during the lockdown is permitted as long as the terms of social distancing are complied with: see Michelael Gove’s Sky News interview:

https://youtu.be/tKaFUJwlSKc

Yesterday I received an e-mail from Stirling Council confirming this. Today however another e-mail was received informing me that the allotments were now closed and a notice appeared on the allotment gate asking us not to use this area.

I am confused. It is much easier for me to maintain social distancing requirements at my allotment than it is for me going for a walk along pavements or going to shops for essential supplies. The exercise I do at the allotments is better than anything I can do at home and it is productive and will result in fruit and vegetables that are likely to be in short supply by the summer for me and others.
Why are Stirling Council adopting this policy of closing allotments which is not a requirement of the terms of the present government requirements for social distancing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.