Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

On blossoming

I was knocked sideways by this today as we went scootering through the park. I know I should probably learn to just deal with it but I never cease to be amazed by how quickly the buds spring into bloom when nature allows them to.

Each year that I’ve lived in my town, I’ve looked forward to when the blossoms arrive on the trees; it marks the start of exciting new chapters: the nights are getting lighter so there’s more time to run along my favourite trail paths; the musical society that I’m a member of is almost ready to perform its annual show at the theatre; we’re getting towards my favourite term of the academic year... the list could go on.

This year (of course) things will be very different.

One silver lining: in these previous years that I speak of, I’ve seen the blossom once, maybe twice but when I’ve managed (amongst my busy schedule) to get back there, it’s all fallen off the trees & lies, a little discoloured at the tree’s trunk.

At least now, we’ve got a surplus of time to appreciate the blossom before they fall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.