AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Town (not country): Town and Country Hotel

This grand local has been closed for some time because of a legal wrangle between the current and previous owners. It was built in 1923, replacing a previous one, in the inter-war classical style. It has also been immortalised in a song, 'Duncan', by Australian country and western icon Slim Dusty. The first verse goes:

I love to have a beer with Duncan
I love to have a beer with Dunc.
We drink in moderation
And we never ever ever get rollin' drunk
We drink at the Town and Country
Where the atmosphere is great
I love to have a beer with Duncan
'Cause Duncan's me mate, yeah

There are four other verses with different men's names and different fourth lines eg... Col... And it doesn't really matter if he brings his doll.

I like that we can see the Town and Country pub from our top back windows.

I have stayed on theme with the extra - the Town Hall Hotel at Newtown's busy junction.

Thanks for hosting Freyjad.

Stay well blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.