MonoMonday Challenge 323 - Point

I am late posting this entry.

I received my Blip mug and t-shirt a few weeks ago during lockdown.  It was a nice bit of sunshine to receive it.  Photography has taken a back seat in lockdown.  I mean... how many things can you take a picture of in your own little box and after all, I have already taken so many pictures over the years... what's the point?

Yes, there are the kids, but they are only so accepting of having their pictures taken.  They are stir-crazy too...  I don't know how much of a record I want or that I need either of this time in lockdown. We are healthy and safe and that is really the only shining star in all of this incomprehensible moment in history.

I think the only point to continue posting is so that family and friends have some recognition point of us, a family in Milan Italy, that is going forward.  Things are beginning to hit hard in the U.S. and I hope to be a reference to my family and friends that they can get through this - because a lot of people have not and it is still very scary.  

I still see so many friends and family on Facebook going out and about as they see it as their right and within their sense of social distancing.  Well, the proverbial sh_t is beginning to hit the fan and I think people are beginning to get the message.  We didn't get the big picture here in Italy either right away, but then that was two months ago and the danger of this pandemic was not that clear at the time.  

I think I am honestly beginning to develop agoraphobia.  Each day we wait for the 6pm update and try to reconcile the numbers.  It is painfully obvious that the 14 day incubation period is just a point on the map and does not reflect the overall mechanism of the spread of this infectious disease.  We are at a month now and the numbers have just started to taper off for the number of new positive cases each day.  The number of deaths are still very high and I assume will be another couple weeks before those numbers start to go down.


I try not to be very political in my personal life or on social media, but it has caught up to me a few times watching the news in the U.S. recently.  It is just tragic how this pandemic has played out under the watch of President Trump.


I will finish my point by repeating something I have already posted on FB a while back...


Don’t look backward. The lessons are out there. There is no doubt about how dangerous the disease is to the young and old, or transmitting to others who are weaker than you - maybe a parent or other loved one. No big deal when it stays in your nose, mouth, throat and upper airways. As soon as it gets down lower, you are at serious risk of it spiraling quickly into pneumonia and shutting you down. Don’t swamp the health system and hospitals - you will not only kill yourself but a lot of other people. So many families are completely crushed by Covid-19 here in Italy and the U.S. is catching up quick.
Everybody needs to look to tomorrow and where they want to be in a few months time. Please don’t take this as an affront on your civil liberties but as a chance to shine by demonstrating your civic responsibility. I think that is the best show of who we are and what makes us strong. Come out of this strong.


Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting this month's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.