childhood memories

In 1991 I saw some white round cookies in the grocery store. My entire body was suffused with happiness. I began salivating. I bought the cookies, brought them home, tasted them, and was completely disappointed. The happiness had been so intense that clearly these cookies reminded me of something so I called my mother for an explanation. 

When I was very young she would make Mexican Wedding Cakes and she, my sister, and I would eat them all up, with complete abandon. Imagine the joy! This is why she stopped making them - she enjoyed them too much and could not exercise control - but obviously part of me remembered, even if not consciously. (The reason why the cookies I bought were such a disappointment is that there is another cookie that looks just like it but tastes completely different.)

Childhood memories can be intense.

I think I will get cookies to reward myself when I shave my hair. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.