La vida de Annie

By Annie

Correo.

Day 18 of lockdown.
Last week a neighbour in the village called out from her car that she had just collected mail from Es Mercadal post office, and that there was some there for me. Today I finally plucked up the courage to venture out to try to collect it, aware that there has been a bit of an outbreak in that town, and a death at the geriatric hospital there. The correos lady was muffled up in protective gear behind a plexiglass screen, and surrounded by warning notices in Catalan about keeping  distant from other customers. Fortunately there were none, so I navigated the improvised barriers of bankers boxes and adhesive tape to reach (a metre away) from the counter. I'd prepared a paper with my details on so that interaction would be at a minimum, and she duly brought me a sheaf of letters, many posted in February. I assume letters are not being delivered now, although have received larger PO deliveries recently. One was from my financial adviser, containing forms which had to be returned before the end of the tax year - hah! The two items of mail most welcome (see extra) were Mothers Day cards from my two daughters - I guess sons don't do cards - although the PO lady was reluctant to hand one of them over as the name "Big Mama" isn't on my driving license.
It's lovely to get something from the family at the moment: cheered me up no end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.