Still life with pear blossom, and Bomble

First things first: do go and visit the divine Blipper, Katherine Ellis, and watch and hear her fabulous live performance from their house (on 29th March 202). It is a wonderful thing!


As I sat having my first and most serious coffee of the morning, I decided to record the sprigs of pear blossom which our neighbour, J, brought to us yesterday. She had picked them from her rather wild garden as a thank you for Helena having done some shopping for her.

I cleaned the lens on my camera and then brought the jar with the pear blossom to the dining room table which overlooks the rear garden. I sat on a chair and was soon joined by Bomble who I’d just given some more food to. After eating he likes to sit and watch the world go by, much as I do. 

Having started taking pictures I went out into the garden to photograph some flowers, and then of course the insects that were buzzing about. I’m doing a near daily record of the garden’s wildlife and plants, which I post on our local Chat Group on Facebook. I’ve had a huge and happy response from local residents who all like to see these scenes as many of them are cooped up and can’t explore outdoors. 

Our garden backs on to a small valley called The Horns and a very ancient footpath runs down beside the house leading to the stream and across to The Heavens. This area is normally used by countless local people as their park, which they can walk around and through, even though it is actually a farmer’s land. I think most people have abandoned walking there as I don’t see many of them at the moment. If you’ve watched my blips over the years you will have seen countless views of this area.  I can’t believe how lucky we are to have such vistas all the time. It seems ever changing.

(Moan – I still can't fathom why the detail in blips is so poor. The flowers are really sharp in my uploaded image. Boo Hoo!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.