tempus fugit

By ceridwen

What I saw

I'm currently getting eggs from a friend who runs a smallholding a couple of miles away. She's a dedicated freegan  and never buys a thing if she can salvage or scavenge it for nothing. I was amused to see her battery of wheelbarrows all lined up ready for service and I don't mind betting she didn't purchase a single one. Her house is  surrounded by stuff that will come in handy one day, usually in ingenious ways.

On the way there and back I noticed
- an oil beetle lumbering along to find a suitable place to lay her eggs; 
-  very tiny orange eyelash fungi on a cow pat with a woodlouse in close attendance; 
 - fox poo composed (not unusually)  of sheep wool and tiny bones; 
 - clumps of violets each with a tram-lined landing strip marked out for insect visitors.
(All in the extras)

Keeping my eyes peeled  when I'm out and about  is the best distraction I know. Flowers and faeces can be equally fascinating.  I know not everyone notices this kind of stuff but I'm sure that those of us who do have an interest, a pursuit or a passion are the best equipped to deal with anxiety in times like these. If you can get absorbed by something  fears and worries drop away, at least until the next news bulletin. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.