a rich image

By richardhaas

Delivery to Car

With the exception of walks and bike rides, we have been sequestered since the middle of March (like so many others).  On Friday, we placed an order with a nearby super market, and arranged for the pick-up this morning.  They notified us when the order was ready and as I pulled up to the take-away area, my moble phone acknowledged my arrival.  Soon, the woman in the picture stepped out of the door, loaded the food in my trunk, and I was off.

It's a sad day in the music world.  The patriarch of the Marsalis family, Ellis left us at age 84, complications from #19.  Also, the guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli succumbed to #19 at age 94.  Up until 5 or 6 years ago, Bucky made an annual trip to Wilmington for the North Carolina Jazz Festival.  One year I had a nice conversation with him and I do have a picture... if I could only find it.   Ron Jones, if you are reading this, I think you took it.

For those not aquanted with these musicians, both Marsalis and Pizzarelli became jazz families.  Four of the Marsalis six sons have become well known jazz musicians, while two of Bucky's children, John and Martin are also great musicians.

Here is Bucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.