TAKING A BREAK

Taken through the window this evening, this chap was well distanced from anyone else. I can't account for the t-shirt, though, it was perishing despite the evening sun and everyone else I saw was wearing padded jackets, hats and scarves.

The s**t finally hit the fan today when Mel, Mum's carer, told us that she'd had to look after Covid-19 patients during her night shift last night and had been given no protection at all. They'd been moved from Frimley Park to the local hospital where she does a couple of shifts a week as a Health Care Assistant, normally on the stroke rehabilitation ward, without any warning to the night staff. She was terribly distressed this morning, both that she now can't go in and look after Mum and of course for her own safety and that of her family. We're all outraged that she's been put in this position, and I'm sure there are thousands throughout the NHS and caring professions in the same situation. I started organising myself to go down at the weekend and stay with Mum indefinitely - which meant either persuading B to come or making sure he'd be safe and able to cope without me for the duration (he can no long read labels on packets and tins, see markings on equipment and all sorts of other things once taken for granted). However, sister K and I decided that the best solution was for her to go tomorrow and take Mum back to Norfolk to her big house and garden with two dogs and my lovely niece and her partner also in residence and isolating. Also, K is a trained nurse. The rest of the day was spent organising what she needs, making sure her prescriptions can be dispensed locally and reassuring Mel. It's been quite a day, and I must admit the knot I've had in my stomach for the last 10 days is unclenching, although I'll be even happier when I know they're both back safely at K's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.