One for the oldies

My Uncle Jack was a Mariner all his life, started when he was a boy and worked his way up to Bosun. Did freighters, tankers, all sorts of ships and ended up on the Blue Funnel line cruising between the UK and New Zealand.
I remember, as a child, he would come home after months at sea and bring me robot toys from Japan, Leather jacket from Argentina, beaded belt from Fiji, always brought be something from everywhere he went.
He died in June 1998 and I attended his funeral in South Shields at the Mission to Seaman's chapel, very appropriate for him.
When his sister, my Aunt, asked me if there was something I wanted of his I said I'd like his shaving mug. I knew it was something that would last me a lifetime and remind me of him every time I had a wet shave, and it does.
RIP Uncle Jack, can't believe it's 22 years since he died.
Extra is l-r My father Stan, my Mum Olwyn and Jack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.