Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Snowy fells

Hey guess what, we finally had snow last night!! It was sleeting for hours but by the time I went to bed last night the ground was covered and of course its nearly gone now as the temperature has risen a bit. But that didn't stop me going out looking for snow in the Lakes. The plan was to go to Derwentwater but just before reaching Keswick I changed my mind and thought I'd have a look to see if the steep and windy little road up to Latrigg was clear. Well the bottom half was and I had a scary moment when I thought I was going to get stuck, but I was able to turn around and head back down and park nearer the bottom.

We had a lovely walk through the woods to Latrigg and the snow was quite deep. As we headed back to the car a couple of hours later the fells were getting busy with people enjoying what is probably the last day of snow, with sledges and even skis! I got chatting to somebody pushing a mountain bike and he was telling me about a challenge tomorrow in which people take their bikes to the top of Skiddaw and ride down, yeeks!! He said he thought he would bow out due to the conditions!

There were only a couple of cars in the car park and they were landrovers the only type of vehicle to make it! On the way down the road there were cars trying to make it to the top and of course couldn't so lots of sliding backwards and trying to turn around in the very narrow road made more difficult by parked cars in the turning area. Bonnie is flat out fast asleep now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.