Relocation

I followed the sound of baby birds in my neighbor's front yard. I found the nest, but it was too high up to see into it. There was, however, another nest on lower branches in another part of the tree. I notice what first looked like a piece of rope or a bungee strap wrapped around the nest. It was actually an approx. three foot (0.914m) long Eastern Rat Snake just hanging out. Whether it had already eaten any baby birds in that nest or it was getting ready to, I can't say. I quickly went home and got a stick with prongs on the end to carefully move the snake away from the nests and relocate it. I don't normally allow myself to play 'goddess', but I just couldn't help myself in this case so...mea culpa. It struck at me a few times while I was moving it but no contact. Not poisonous but I still don't enjoy getting bit by a snake! ;) Do take a look at my two *extras...Rat Snake wrapped-up in the nest and then Rat Snake 'kabob' as I moved it to another location. I really do love and appreciate reptiles, especially snakes and I was, in some ways, happy to see this beautiful creature but I also love birds so...
Be Safe, Stay Home, Save Lives! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.