Philosophy Friday

Thank you for all the loveliness yesterday.

A lot of discussion arose on other forums amongst friends. In some ways some of the voluntary work being offered seems to offer a dilemma; am I volunteering for free in a role someone else should be paid for?
I appreciate I've an odd mix of skills - first amongst them at the moment is simply that the system knows me. My level of medical knowledge, my DBS status, my driving licence, next of kin, all let me slot in quickly.
As one of the self employed who'll no doubt fall through the government's schemes gaps (2 of my last 3 tax returns were decimated by injury and operation which took six months out of each tax year) I'd rather be employed on a rolling short term contract than given Handouts, but:
The country's (world's) back is against the wall, people are literally dying. Stuff needs to happen now. The best we can hope for is that we learn some lessons as a society about the long term implications of previous and future decisions.

Philosophy Friday
Do à little bit of good where you are.
It's those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.
Desmomd Tutu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.