Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Don’t deprive me of my micro world

Why aren’t Stirling Council following government guidance regarding allotments?

The Scottish Government guidance with respect to Allotments is not explicit and leaves it as a matter for local authorities, and other owners, giving them the rules to be currently followed by all. An exception to the stay at home rule includes Daily Exercise. Tending to an allotment counts as a form of exercise as long as social distancing is maintained, According to Cabinet Office Minister Michael Gove: “I think it is perfectly sensible for people to go to an allotment,” (BBC Breakfast (2 April)) It is in the very nature of an allotment that there is a safe distance between people working on individual allotments.”

As the Government has prohibited gatherings of more than two people, this must also be observed on allotments. This is a UK Government Minister’s position, which neither the UK or Scottish Government has disagreed with, (that tending an allotment counts as a form of exercise) and hence is included under the Scottish Government exceptions.

However, with a “we know better” attitude Stirling Council have closed my allotment and refuse to listen to representations or to explain why the do not adhere to the government position. We have the crazy situation where allotments managed by Stirling Council are closed yet others less than 6 miles away managed privately are open subject to social distancing requirements being adhered to.

No one will deprive me of my micro world, my health and my wellbeing without a fight. I have lost the initial fight but not the battle which will continue - watch this space!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.