a bit of a dilemma

This is a clever wee thing - it’s fair to say that it has changed my life.  I’ve only known that such a thing existed for the last month or so - we were introduced by Builder Dave - and now, just when I am fully able to appreciate their potential for good, I’ve run into a problem.  

The experienced DIYer will recognise this is a hollow wall anchor.   Others might say ‘it’s just a shiny thing’.  And so what’s the big deal?  What on Earth could be the problem, when we have the coronavirus to deal with?   I’ll tell you.

This one, sacrificed in the name of Blip, is the last one I have.  And I need more to feed my lockdown induced habit of ‘finding more jobs to do that involve hanging things on hollow walls’.

When we first moved in I had plenty of things that needed hanging on hollow walls.  Some were quite heavy and needed to be placed in such a position that inevitably meant missing a nearby stud.  

'Left a bit' or 'right a bit' and I could have just whacked a big nail in knowing that the wooden stud would have supported the weight, no problemo.  But for aethetic considersations, the hollow part of the wall was ‘just right’.

I mention this to Builder Dave and he said “you need some of these” and proffered up a box of these hollow wall fixings.  “They’ll support 50kg …”  I take them with thanks - and a pinch of cynicism - and then check on the internet, just to be sure.  

It’s all about shearing forces.  “Stick a nail in a bit of plasterboard” says a DIY sage.  “Now pull it down vertically.  You can’t”.  He’s right.  Wow.  

So the big heavy picture that needs to hang exactly in the middle of our bedroom wall can now be fixed to the cavity behind, without fear of it crashing down on our heads in the middle of the night.  Which has been a recurring nightmare for Anniemay.

But my dilemma is that I now need some more of these magic fixings.  I can’t just walk into town and buy some from the hardware shop because (a) that involves going outside - and we been ‘instructed’ not to - and (b) the hardware shop is closed until further notice.

So that leaves online.  Which is at the heart of my dilemma.  

These fixings are not ‘essential’ - other than to give me something to do.  So am I putting delivery drivers at risk by ordering something which is unncessary, in the grand scheme of things?  But on-line retailers want - even need - the business in order to keep going.  Does that make it essential?  And on it goes...

I eventually gave in and ordered some more.  

And that’s not all.  Tonight we’re off to the theatre, to see a ‘One man, two guvnors’ at the National Theatre.  We’re taking snacks and wine.  It’s on Youtube until 7th April.

ps; this is much sharper on my screen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.