High Nesting Herons

Every year I try to photograph these beautiful birds as they prepare the risky business of laying eggs and bringing up youngsters about 30m off the ground. Last year there were about 16 pairs but today I only saw 6 nests.

Had a S. D. walk with a friend along the Grand Canal that goes into Lake Geneva. Many bird watchers with huge lenses were out and about, keeping distance between each other of course. We saw a Kite couple nesting, a Common Shrike (extra) very difficult to see, and which is not common here, a pair of Common Shell Ducks, again not common here. So it was a great hour's walk and one that I would never have done if it had not been for the current restrictions!

I just saw that there are lots of faves I haven't thanked people for, on the chamois sunbathing and yesterday's mountain shots. I had a very busy afternoon emptying our huge pond and refilling it. I am good for nothing now but it is sooo much better now! Hope you are all managing to enjoy this slow down time and mainly that you and your families are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.