Calm of the Bay

Despite going to bed at 4, I was up, bright and early, at 8:30, and out on the shore to soak up the amazing views across to the mountains - both the ones between us and Burgos, and the Picos were covered in deep snow.

I got a take-away coffee, and sat on the dock, watching the world go by, until the dregs at the bottom of the cup called me back to reality and I returned to the flat to plan my day.

I ended up on a train to Rienosa - I'd been before, with Arms, but never on the train, which takes a number of switchbacks to climb the 850m from Santander. It was spectacular - though my iPod and the dirty windows didn't work well in the photo department.

I had planned to stay in Rienosa for a few hours, but having been there before I wasn't to fussed, and after 20 mins of wondering about to find a bar to cotch down in with my book, I decided that the time would be better spent on the train, and so got back on to Santander.

Read all the way home, listening to music, watching the snow out the window.

Back in Santander, I met up with some friends in the evening to make pancakes, which evolved into whiskey drinking (burns night!) and some dancing.

Was overwhelmed by the comments to my #500 yesterday, thanks to everyone. Here's to the next 500!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.