Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

RIP Mr. Dean

A sad day as I had a call to say my old boss from when I was an apprenctice in the 60's had recently passed away. I owe so much to him as he was such an inspiration. I originally signed on as an apprentice tool maker but when a vacancy came up for an apprentice draughtsman I jumped at it and never looked back. Dennis was what I call and old time boss who was strict but fair. Dennis is the one who looks like one of the Marks brothers. His daughter has invited me to the funeral which is allowing 10 people to be present at the crematorium. I would be ony one of two that wouldn't be family. I feel honoured but am unsure as to whether I should go because of my age.

I remember as an apprentice Dennis watching out for us at Christmas time when we would get back form the pub an hour late from a liquid lunch. We would try and sneak in in ones and twos and pretend to have been in another part of the factory. We told the youngest apprentice who was the one who usually bore the brunt that the best way was to take him a cigar back as a peace offering...what we didn't say was that Dennis had recently given up smoking. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.