Tree Massacre #2

With two women wielding chain saws and a man riding his front loader,  the rest of the trees on my back neighbour's property were taken down all afternoon. They were chopped into logs, and left by the side of the road for the village compost truck to come do a pick up on Monday or Tuesday. Those pines were over 50 years old and only an afternoon to remove.
The sound of the noise made me feel sick all afternoon.
The photo shows the uprooted stumps. 
The back of my house is now totally open to the south. Summer heat will be something new for me to deal with. I think I am not accepting changes very well now. 
I will have to plan on what to do in my own backyard. Arbor Day is coming in two weeks. The NY state conservation board has a program and gives out bundles of free trees in the village square. Some of my young evergreens are from past Arbor Days. Oxford is one of the "Tree Cities USA.
I feel sad for the birds and squirrels who used those big trees. Now it is a long distance between my feeders and trees to nest & eat in.
Oh well... life moves on. We only have 32 cases of the Corona virus in our county as of today. But poor New York City had 623 people die overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.