Day Eleven; Karoro flies to the night roost

An unusual day. I had completely overlooked the ending of Daylight Saving. In Late September we "gave up an hour of one Sunday, so that we could have more daylight in the evenings. Today we were repaid that hour, without interest. 

I woke to daylight coming down the passage, and as I have usually been awake before sunrise, I was surprised. So I checked the time on my iPhone to find that it was 0645. Which is when I remembered about the clocks being shifted. 

I've spent the day taking it easy. Finished reading a Georgette Heyer novel (recommended by S). She has such a gently and perfectly surgical style of displaying for all to see, the pomposity and foolishness of so many men. We are indeed fortunate in New Zealand to have a woman as our Prime Minister during this pandemic. Ego seems to have no part to play in what she is doing to lead the country through a dangerous time.

No jog or walk today; indeed I remained inside, except for walking on the deck, which is where I took this photo, looking northwest across the upper Waitemata Harbour. Taken shortly after the sun set behind clouds, rather more to the west. The karoro all seem to fly in an easterly direction at about this time of the day, and one graced my photo with its presence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.