The bread of my children

This oblique reference to Ernest Hemingway 's short novel, The Old Man and the Sea, celebrates the fact that my son directed me to the recipe for this semi-sourdough loaf.

Using only 1 gram of yeast, it is left to prove for 24 hours before reshaping, proving again and baking.
The recipe called for baking in a Dutch Oven to retain the humidity for the first 30 minutes.

My life, incomplete as it is without a Dutch Oven, needed some thought so instead, I used this extremely heavy cast iron pot. It fitted inside our regular oven and the process worked successfully. Lid on the first 30 minutes and off for 15 minutes more.

A 27 hour process from start to finish.

We had it for lunch with a crushed avocado (oh no, the Air Miles Police will have me again) and also used to dip into a peppery, Arbequino olive oil from Spain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.