Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Spectacular

The whole cataract business required juggling with several pairs of glasses. This has been the changing story.

(1). I wore the blue frames for day-to-day vision up to the end of December and continued to wear them between the first and second cataract operations with the right lens replaced with clear glass (on sunny days this meant the left lens darkened automatically while the other remained clear, which gave me a rather piratical look);

(2). The orange and black pair, which I always really liked, were my reading glasses up to the end of December. They were no longer suitable after the first op, so before the second op I replaced the reading lenses with clear glass so these could become my everyday wear until I got new frames for both distant and close vision.

(3 & 4). A few days after the second eye was done I got these off-the-shelf reading glasses to tide me over until I had an eye test done following my follow-on appointment in the Eye and Ear hospital. I got the horn-rimmed ones first, which were 1.5 magnification, but I began to feel that 1.25 would be more suitable and got the smaller ones as a replacement in my local pharmacy.

(5 & 6). These are what I’m wearing since my eye test. The blue frames are fitted with clear glass, for my new 20:20 distant vision, while the matching brown ones are for reading and working on the computer. As soon as I got these home I felt the prescription is too extreme for computer work and I’ll return to Specsavers for replacement lenses once the Coronavirus passes us by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.