Monkey business

This is a howler monkey. They are very territorial and will 'howl' if the feel threatened. It sounds like a dog barking and at first when I heard it that is exactly what I thought. Soon after, a paparazzi of tourists are running with cameras in hand and I realized that it wasn't a dog I heard but a monkey. Earlier in the week there was a white faced monkey showing off in the tree right overhead where we were sitting on the beach. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to put the flash card back in the camera!! What a bummer!
Thank goodness they are always on the move and for every monkey photo op you miss, another one will come along. One day I felt like my neck would be permanently stuck from constantly looking up in the trees. You get to know the time of day they are on the move and the sound they make. I've taken many bird photos too since there are 800 species of birds here and they make more noise than the monkeys!
I love all the nature sounds and I will miss it a lot. I will also miss the sounds of the sea. I have thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful place. It's one of the most restorative, relaxing and beautiful places I've been! Tomorrow we will head home but in the meantime, there is one more night and the morning left to enjoy and enjoy I will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.