Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Morningside Cemetery

I did go somewhere different today, having got thoroughly sick of walking round the block yesterday. I had never been to Morningside Cemetery before but had been looking at the map for green spaces within walking distance. There was a map at the entrance of graves of famous people and I sought out the memorial to the Cadell family of whom sisters Grace and Martha were two of the first women to qualify as doctors in Edinburgh and also suffragettes. I risked a police warning for sitting in the sun on a bench as it turned out to be a lovely afternoon, but I was fairly sure no police would turn up, which I might take advantage of again. I can't have seen more than ten other people while I was there, so no problems about social distancing at all.
 
My photo is of a memorial to two children, Robert Alexander who lived from 13th to 21st September 1879 and was interred in the Protestant Cemetery in Alexandria, Egypt, and Edith Margaret who lived from 23rd December 1880 to 9th March 1886. There were modern graves too, some of them being for very young children which was a reminder that infant mortality isn’t just a thing of the past.
 
When I got home I was fully expecting to find that we were no longer allowed our daily exercise, but it seems we’ve had a reprieve, for the time being anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.