Chocolate cake

Inge and Ellis made chocolate cake today. It doesn’t look very big in this picture, but it sure is. Or, rather, it sure WAS. We didn’t finish the entire cake yet but that’s only a matter of time!

In other news: it looks like the Dutch have gotten the message. Despite the beautiful weather, people mostly stayed home or kept some distance.

Yesterday, I started working on a laptop that I bought from the hospital some time ago. It seemed there was a hardware issue with it as it sometimes suddenly stated there was no hard disk in it. Once I opened up the laptop I quickly found the issue: the disk needs to be in a caddy before being inserted but the whole caddy just wasn’t there! This meant the hard disk was sort of dangling on its connector and apparently it lost connection every now and then. I ordered a new caddy and in the meantime I’m holding the disk in place with some paper. Now I only need to make sure the laptop isn’t getting too hot :-)

Reinstalling Windows proved to be challenging and it certainly led to quite a bit of frustration on my part, to the point I almost tossed the entire laptop in the bin. Fortunately, I managed to find a solution and now it’s running again with Windows 10 installed. I immediately created a backup so I can restore it to its current state should the disk lose connection again before the caddy arrives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.