Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

No one to enjoy the view

The days are starting to all blur now - I read a meme saying the days of the week are now to be known as thisday, thatday, otherday, someday, yesterday, today and nextday! Quite true! For me the difference in each day is the meals...the kitchen is getting a good workover from everyone using it throughout the day, the boys cooking up extravagant meals for their individual lunches and no sooner has that been cleaned up (by them with only a bit of finishing off by me) then I must start cooking dinner. I have already made the cottage pie for dinner tonight, it just has to go into the oven to be baked. My dishes often include ingredients that they don't usually include, but are being included now as it is what was available when we went shopping.

Today I had a click and collect order from Tesco - this was booked 3 weeks ago before lockdown, when I was panicking how we would ever get food again, and as there were no delivery slots available I went for this as the next best option. As the time drew near I wanted to cancel it as I think that delivery slots should be reserved for the elderly and vulnerable people only (and those that don't live near a supermarket) but there was no guarantee that if I cancelled my precious slot it would be reassigned to someone needy like that so in the end I kept it. It was totally effortless, I just drove up and the staff member on duty placed the bagged groceries next to the car and I loaded it in, no queues, no contact, no signing of docuements. I won't book any more slots though as there are others far more in need of this service than me.

A beautiful walk in the woods with Xena again this morning, and it was quiet. People are now respectfully standing off the path if you come along to increase the distance beyond 2m. She is still not good walking on the roads to get to the woods as she is still nervous of the cars, but I am trying to encourage her and train her to get used to them. It is taking time!

I am very concerned about Boris and really hope he starts to get better. I know many don't agree with me but I think he, his government and advisers have done an excellent job through this crisis. You cannot compare the UK to other countries, each country has different demographics and different circumstances. Comparing how we are doing things compared to Italy, the USA...it's all meaningless. It is helping having Adam at home explaining how a virus like this works and just how difficult it is to create that vaccine and the antibody test.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.