witchpics

By witchcreations

Blue language and one red foot

Let's paint footprint unicorns, I saw it on Pinterest!

When will I learn??? 

Yes we have a few unicorn pictures...  yes she enjoyed it,  but why do I do this to myself? 

first there was the painting of the feet... 'mum, you do it too. let's do your one red'... turns out the red paint is highly pigmented and doesn't come off... I now have one red foot... 

second...I thought it's OK, we're outside, we've put down a mat, it's a sunny day,  she can freestyle her painting whilst the footprints dry... I pop inside to try and sandblast my foot... come out a few minutes later and she's been colour mixing,  with very large quantities of paint... and has managed to produce a shade that I can only refer to as Diarrhea, at a scale the size of a cowpat... 

But I get that all cleared up...  

and then we turn to decorating our footprints and turning them into beautiful sparkling unicorns... 

so then we have the glue disaster... 

this is where I find myself longing for a garden with grass rather than a small concrete back yard... when I was growing up,  life was civilised... I would spray paint on the grass, and the next time it was mowed it was all gone... I had unfortunately discovered (incurring great disapproval)  that spray painting on the drive or the garage floor was a different matter, and this had to be weathered off over a couple of years...   So now I find myself trying to teach my daughter which things are washable and which ones aren't and why we need to only work on the mat... 

At least we're over the pouring out sequins and swimming in them phase... she's an animal lover, so all I have to say is 'they're plastic and the animals will try to eat them' and she picks them up and counts them back in as if they're diamonds... 

So lessons from today... 
Pinterest should never be trusted - anyone can take a photo that makes things look like they're going well, but real life isn't like that... 

Little un, learnt several choice phrases from me, that she's not allowed to use in public (and nor am I)  we have a pact that they won't be repeated in front of strangers. 

She's never going to learn from my mistakes, she's always going to figure things out based on her own experiences... 

Turns out that Karma is real and that I probably need to apologise to my mum for all my paint based incidents growing up... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.