Earl Grey

I spend a wet Australia Day at my mate Ken's farm. There wasn't a whole lot to do because of the weather so I went outside and tooled around with my Land Rover which I keep there.
When I got in, started it and put it in reverse, I looked down and there was a massive Huntsman spider crawling across the seat towards me. It got as far as my leg before I managed to get out. Earl was still in reverse low range and kept happily rolling back towards the big shed while I danced around in the rain trying to strip off in case the spider was on me. I reached into the cab, tried to pop it out of gear, only to shove it into second whereupon it started chugging forward. I tried again to get it out of gear, only to slam it into first (still going forward). The spider was still on the seat.
I managed to get it out of gear just as the Earl started to push against a wooden fence post with a view to escaping into the paddock and beyond. So now the old dent on the front left panel is a little bit worse. I had to do a bit of home panel beating.
I went back with a can of insecticide and sprayed the inside of the cab. The spider was nowhere to be seen. I am feeling very ruffled right now.
I think Ken is a bit disgusted with me. It is probably lucky I didn't run myself over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.