Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Bleak Spring

The first thing I learned when I woke this morning is that Bernie Sanders has dropped out of the race for President, leaving us a choice of a milquetoast neoliberal corporatist vs. a fascist white supremacist. I wept and was unable to do much of anything all day. Bella and I worked on Borax crystal-making via Facetime, Sue and I wept together on the phone almost as bitterly as we did in New Orleans on the day Trump was elected, and otherwise the day was a wash. I looked at the manuscript-in-progress and wanted to move every word of it into the trash and then empty the trash. I told myself I can do that tomorrow and watched a re-run of a British Baking Show I've seen at least four times already. My daughter called from Houston to ask if we can't move back to South Africa, please? "Do I have to be part of this capitalist nightmare?" she asked. Sadly, no and yes. Some days you just can't look on the bright side, no matter how wise Monty Python was about it all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.