stujphoto

By stujphoto

Abstract Challenge - Food

It's been quite a while since I last contributed to the Thursday Abstract Challenge so I thought I would take what is a common still life form and an attractive  theme - a bowl of fruit and play around with it. Unfortunately our fruit bowl is looking rather em[ty as it's time for the weeky shop tomorrow but its minimalism is probably helpful as the shapes of the fruit are still quite apparent. I thought a couple change of colour might help to abstract the elements so I inverted (the colour elementals of) the image so instead of the yellows and oranges and reds the cyan range becomes most prominent. You can still just about distinguish the apples from the orange ! And then I wanted to add a dreamy quality so I use the mezzotint filter in Photoshop. While it's is still recognisably a bowl of fruit it no longer stirs the gastric juices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.